Study Guide For Students in Cost Accounting
Study Guide For Students in Cost Accounting
2. Cost accounting measures, analyzes, and 6. The term supply chain describes the flow of goods,
services, and information from the initial achieving those goals, (c) deciding how to attain the
sources of materials and services to the delivery desired goals, and (d) communicating the goals and how to
of products to customers, regardless of whether attain them to the entire organization. Control comprises
those activities occur in the same organization or (a) taking actions that implement the planning decisions,
in other organizations. Cost management (b) deciding how to evaluate performance, and (c)
emphasizes integrating and coordinating providing feedback and learning to help future decision
activities across all companies in the supply making.
chain, as well as across each business function
in an individual company’s value chain, to 9. Planning and control are linked by a five-step
reduce costs. decision making process: (i) identify the problem and
uncertainties, (ii) obtain information, (iii) make predictions
7. Customers want companies to use the about the future, (iv) make decisions by choosing among
value chain and supply chain to deliver ever alternatives, and (v) implement the decision, evaluate
improving levels of performance regarding four performance and learn. Collectively, the first four steps are
key success factors: planning and the last step is control.
1 a. Cost and efficiency—Companies face 10. Budgeting is essential for planning and control. A
continuous pressure to reduce the cost of the budget is the quantitative expression of a proposed plan of
products or services they sell. Examples action by management for a specified period and is an aid
include eliminating the need for rework and to coordinating what needs to be done to implement that
outsourcing one or more business functions plan. Because the process of preparing a budget crosses
to foreign countries. business functions, it forces coordination and
2 b. Quality—Customers expect high levels of communication throughout the company, as well as with
quality. Total quality management (TQM) is the company’s suppliers and customers.
a philosophy in which management
improves operations throughout the value 11. A performance report (see Exhibit 1-4, text p. 10),
chain to deliver products and services that spurs investigation and learning. Learning is examining
exceed customer expectations. past performance (the control function) and systematically
3 c. Time—Time has many components. exploring alternative ways to make better informed
Examples include the time to develop and decisions and plans in the future. Learning can lead to
bring new products to market and the speed changes in goals, changes in the ways decision alternatives
at which an organization responds to are identified, changes in the range of information
customer requests. collected when making predictions, and sometimes
4 d. Innovation—A constant flow of changes in managers.
innovative products or services is the basis
for ongoing company success. A main 12. Three guidelines help management accountants
source of innovations is R&D. provide the most value to their companies in strategic and
operational decision making:
Management accountants help managers track a. Employ a cost-benefit approach. This approach guides
performance on the key success factors in decision making: resources should be spent if the
comparison to the performance of competitors expected benefits to the company exceed the expected
on the same factors. Tracking what is happening costs. For example, consider a budgeting system. The
in other companies serves as a benchmark and expected costs of a proposed budgeting system (such
alerts managers to the changes their own as personnel, software, and training) should be
customers are observing and evaluating. The compared with its expected benefits, which are the
goal is for a company to continuously improve collective decisions of managers that will better attain
its critical operations. the company’s goals. In particular, measurement of the
expected benefits is seldom easy.
b. Give full recognition to behavioral as well as technical
8. Management accounting facilitates considerations. A management accounting system
planning and control. Planning comprises (a) should have two simultaneous missions for providing
selecting organization goals, (b) predicting information: (i) to help managers make wise economic
results under various alternative ways of decisions by providing them with desired information
(the technical mission), and (ii) to help
motivate managers and other employees to 14. The chief financial officer (CFO), a staff
aim for goals of the organization (the management function, is the executive responsible for
behavioral mission). Management is overseeing the financial operations of an organization,
primarily a human activity that should focus which usually include controllership, treasury, risk
on how to help individuals do their jobs management, taxation, investor relations, and internal
better. audit. The controller, also a staff management function, is
c. Use different costs for different purposes. To the financial executive primarily responsible for
illustrate this guideline, consider how to management accounting and financial accounting. The
account for advertising. For the purpose of controller “controls” by exerting a force or influence that
preparing financial statements under GAAP, helps managers make better informed decisions as they
advertising is an expense in the accounting implement their strategies.
period when it is incurred. For the purpose
of determining a product’s selling price, its 15. Accountants have special obligations regarding
advertising costs, along with its other costs ethics, given that they are responsible for the integrity of
from all business functions of the value the financial information provided to internal and external
chain, should be taken into account. parties. Professional accounting organizations such as the
Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), the largest
13. Most organizations distinguish line association of management accountants in the United
management from staff management. Line States, play an important role in promoting high ethical
management (for example, production) is standards. For example, the IMA has identified four
directly responsible for attaining the goals of the standards of ethical conduct for management accountants:
organization. Staff management (for example, competence, confidentiality, integrity, and credibility.
accounting) exists to provide advice and EXHIBIT 1-7, text p. 16, provides the IMA’s guidance on
assistance to line management. Increasingly, issues relating to the four standards, and EXHIBIT 1-8,
organizations rely on teams for attaining their text p. 17, presents the IMA’s guidance on how to resolve
goals; as a result, the traditional distinction ethical conflict.
between line and staff management becomes
less clear-cut than it was in the past.
Featured Exercise
Exon Tackle Company manufactures a wide range of fishing equipment and supplies for the retail market. In the
current fiscal year, Exon incurred the costs described below. For each of these costs, indicate the applicable
business function of the value chain by putting the identifying number in the space provided.
_____a. Cost of repairing reels that malfunctioned during the warranty period.
_____b. Cost of hooks used in making fishing lures.
_____c. Salary of a mechanical engineer working on the basic concept for the next generation of ultra-light
fishing rods.
_____d. Cost of overnight delivery of rods and reels to winter boat shows.
_____e. Cost of running advertisements in fishing magazines.
_____f. Cost of printing operating instructions to be packaged with a new model of trolling motor.
a. 6 c. 1 e. 4
b. 3 d. 5 f. 3
This section is designed to help determine how well you have mastered the textbook material. Try to answer all of
these questions and exercises without using your textbook or the Highlights in the Student Guide. In answering the
Review Questions and Exercises, be sure to follow Step 4 of the study approach recommended in the Introduction, p.
vii. All answers are at the end of the chapter.
_____________________________________
Completion Statements 6. The ____________________ approach helps guide
managers’ decision making.
Fill in the blank(s) to complete each statement. 7. The Institute of Management Accountants’ four
standards of ethical conduct for management
1. _______________________ (a) emphasizes accountants are ____________
the future, (b) aims to influence the behavior ____________________________________
of managers and other employees in _____________________.
achieving the goals of an organization, and
(c) does not have to follow generally True-False
accepted accounting principles (GAAP).
2. __________________________ is the Indicate whether each statement is true (T) or false (F).
approaches and activities of managers to use
resources to increase value to customers and __1. Management accounting does not have to follow
to achieve organizational goals. generally accepted accounting principles.
3. Selecting organization goals, predicting __2. Cost accounting provides information for
results under various alternative ways of management accounting but not for financial
achieving these goals, and deciding how to accounting.
attain the desired goals are aspects of __3. Control is defined as the process of setting maximum
________________. limits on expenditures.
4. A __________ is a quantitative expression of __4. Managers should proceed sequentially through the
a proposed plan of action by management value chain of business functions.
for a specified period and is an aid to __5. The term supply chain describes the flow of goods,
coordinating what needs to be done to services, and information from the initial sources
implement that plan. of materials and services to the delivery of
5. Name the six business functions in the value products to customers, regardless of whether those
chain in their sequential order: activities occur in the same organization or in
____________ other organizations.
____________________________________ __6. Learning is examining past performance (the control
_ function) and systematically exploring alternative
____________________________________ ways to make better informed decisions and plans
_ in the future.
__7. The CFO, a line management function, is an organization.
the executive responsible for overseeing c. management accounting and financial
the financial operations of an accounting.
organization. d. obtaining short-term and long-term financing.
__3. Maintaining records on traffic tickets issued by the
Multiple Choice city of Atlanta is performing what management
accounting role?
Select the best answer to each question. a. Scorekeeping
b. Attention directing
__1. Control includes: c. Problem solving
a. selecting organization goals. d. Internal auditing
b. implementing the planning decisions. __4. The Institute of Management Accountants’ Standards
c. deciding how to attain the desired of Ethical Conduct for Management Accountants
results. includes standards on:
d. preparing budgets. a. competence and responsibility.
__2. The primary responsibility of the controller b. integrity and professionalism.
is: c. objectivity and responsibility.
a. risk management. d. competence and confidentiality.
b. overseeing the financial operations of
Review Exercises
1. Define strategy. Then specify the two broad strategies that companies choose between.
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________
__a. Company X monitors the number and nature of
2. For each of the following actions by customer complaints on a customer-by-customer
companies, identify the applicable management basis.
theme. __b. Company Y reports how long it takes a new product
CF: Customer focus to be introduced to the market after the initial
KSF: Key success factors (cost and concept for the product is approved by
efficiency, quality, time, innovation) management.
VC: Value-chain and supply-chain analysis
Completion Statements
1. Management accounting
2. Cost management
3. planning
4. budget
5. research and development (R&D); design of products, services, or processes; production; marketing;
distribution; customer service
6. cost-benefit
7. competence, confidentiality, integrity, credibility
True-False
1. T
2. F Cost accounting provides information for both management accounting and financial accounting. Cost
accounting measures, analyzes, and reports financial and nonfinancial information relating to the cost of
acquiring and using resources in an organization.
3. F Control comprises (a) taking actions that implement the planning decisions, (b) deciding how to evaluate
performance, and (c) providing feedback and learning to help future decision making.
4. F Rather than proceeding sequentially through the value chain, companies can gain when various parts of the
value chain work concurrently as a team. For example, additional spending on R&D and product design
might be more than offset by lower costs of production and customer service.
5. T
6. T
7. F The CFO, a staff management function (not a line management function), is the executive responsible for
overseeing the financial operations of an organization, which usually include controllership, treasury, risk
management, taxation, and internal audit. Staff management exists to provide advice and assistance to line
management. Line management is directly responsible for attaining the goals of the organization.
Multiple Choice
1. b Control comprises (i) taking actions that implement the planning decisions, (ii) deciding how to evaluate
performance, and (iii) providing feedback that will help future decision making. Answers (a), (c) and (d)
are aspects of planning.
2. c The controller, a staff management function, is the financial executive primarily responsible for management
accounting and financial accounting.
3. d The IMA’s Standards of Ethical Conduct for Management Accountants has four standards: competence,
confidentiality, integrity, and credibility.
Review Exercise 1
Strategy specifies how an organization matches its own capabilities with the opportunities in the marketplace
to accomplish its objectives. In other words, strategy describes how an organization will compete and the
opportunities its employees should seek and pursue. Companies follow one of two broad strategies:
1 • Sell quality products or services at low prices. Examples are Wal-Mart and Southwest Airlines.
2 • Sell differentiated or unique products or services at higher prices than charged by competitors. Examples
are EMC and Pfizer.
Deciding between these strategies is a critical part of what managers do. Management accountants work
closely with managers in formulating strategy.
Review Exercise 2
a. CF b. KSF
CHAPTER
An Introduction to Cost Terms and Purposes
2
describes the assignment of direct costs to the
Overview particular cost object.
2 • The indirect costs of a cost object are related to the
This chapter introduces the basic terminology of particular cost object but cannot be traced to it in an
cost accounting. Communication among economically feasible way. The term cost allocation
managers and management accountants is describes the assignment of indirect costs to the
greatly facilitated by having a common particular cost object.
understanding of the meaning of cost terms and
concepts. The chapter illustrates a major theme
of the textbook: using different costs for Several factors affect the classification of a cost as direct
different purposes. The chapter also provides a or indirect: the materiality (relative importance) of the cost
framework to help you understand cost in question, available information-gathering technology,
accounting and cost management. and design of operations.
3. The key question in cost assignment is Costs are variable or fixed with respect to a specific
whether costs have a direct or an indirect activity and for a given time period. Relevant range is the
relationship to the particular cost object. band of normal activity level or volume in which there is a
specific relationship between the level of activity or
1 • The direct costs of a cost object are volume and the cost in question.
related to the particular cost object and can
be traced to it in an economically feasible 6. A cost driver is a variable, such as the level of
(cost-effective) way. The term cost tracing activity or volume, that causally affects costs over a given
time span. In other words, a cause-and-effect 3 • Service-sector companies provide services
relationship exists between a change in the level (intangible products)—for example, legal advice,
of activity or volume and a change in the level checking accounts, or audits—to their customers.
of total costs. These companies do not have an inventory of items for
sale.
1 • The cost driver of a variable cost is the
level of activity or volume whose change
causes proportionate changes in that cost. 9. For companies with inventories, generally accepted
For example, the number of trucks accounting principles distinguish inventoriable costs from
assembled is a cost driver of the cost of period costs.
steering wheels for the trucks.
2 • Costs that are fixed in the short run have 1 • Inventoriable costs are all costs of a product that are
no cost driver in the short run but may have considered as assets in the balance sheet when they are
a cost driver in the long run. For example, incurred and that become cost of goods sold only when
the equipment and staff costs of product the product is sold. For manufacturing companies, all
testing typically are fixed in the short run manufacturing costs are inventoriable costs. For
with respect to changes in the volume of merchandising companies, inventoriable costs are the
production. In the long run, however, the costs of purchasing the merchandise. Because service
company increases or decreases these costs companies have no inventories, they have no
to the levels needed to support future inventoriable costs.
production levels. 2 • Period costs are all costs in the income statement
other than cost of goods sold. Period costs are treated
as expenses of the accounting period in which they are
7. Accounting systems typically report both incurred.
total costs and unit costs (also called average
costs). A unit cost is computed by dividing some
amount of total costs by the related number of 10. Three terms are widely used in describing
units. Unit costs are regularly used in financial manufacturing costs. In the following definitions, “the cost
reports. Generally, however, managers should object” refers to “work in process and then finished
think in terms of total costs rather than unit goods.”
costs. That’s because fixed cost per unit changes
when the related level of volume changes. Unit 1 • Direct material costs are the acquisition costs of all
costs, therefore, should be interpreted with materials that eventually become part of the cost
caution if they include a fixed-cost component. object and that can be traced to that cost object in an
The Tennessee Products example, text p. 35-36, economically feasible way.
illustrates this important point. 2 • Direct manufacturing labor costs include the
compensation of all manufacturing labor that can be
8. Companies in the manufacturing, traced to the cost object in an economically feasible
merchandising, and service sectors of the way.
economy are frequently referred to in the study 3 • Indirect manufacturing costs (also called
of cost accounting. manufacturing overhead costs or factory overhead
costs) are all manufacturing costs that are related to
1 • Manufacturing-sector companies the cost object but that cannot be traced to it in an
purchase materials and components and economically feasible way. Examples include power,
convert them into various finished goods. indirect materials, indirect manufacturing labor, plant
These companies typically have one or more insurance, plant depreciation, and compensation of
of three types of inventory: direct materials plant managers.
inventory, work-in-process inventory, and
finished goods inventory.
2 • Merchandise-sector companies purchase 11. In the income statement of a manufacturing
and then sell tangible products without company, cost of goods sold is computed as follows
changing their basic form. These companies (figures assumed):
have one type of inventory: merchandise
inventory. Beginning finished $ 50,000
goods
Add cost of goods 800,000 1 • Prime costs are all direct manufacturing costs. Under
manufactured the three-part classification of manufacturing costs in
Cost of goods 850,000 paragraph 10, prime costs are equal to direct material
available for sale costs plus direct manufacturing labor costs. In cases
Deduct ending 60,000 where other direct manufacturing cost categories are
finished goods
used, they too are prime costs. For example, power
Cost of goods sold $790,000
costs could be classified as a direct cost if the power is
metered to specific areas of a plant that are dedicated
to manufacturing separate products.
The line item, cost of goods manufactured, 2 • Conversion costs are all manufacturing costs other
refers to the cost of goods brought to than direct material costs; they are incurred to convert
completion, whether they were started before or direct materials into finished goods. Under the three-
during the current accounting period. Cost of part classification of manufacturing costs, conversion
goods manufactured is often computed in a costs are equal to direct manufacturing labor costs plus
supporting schedule to the income statement as indirect manufacturing costs.
follows (figures assumed):
Beginning direct $ 60,000 13. All manufacturing labor compensation other than
materials
for direct labor, managers’ salaries, department heads’
Add purchases of 510,000
direct materials salaries, and supervisors’ salaries is usually classified as
Direct materials 570,000 indirect labor costs—a major component of manufacturing
available for use overhead. Two main categories of indirect labor in
Deduct ending 50,000 manufacturing and service companies are overtime
direct materials premium and idle time. Overtime premium is the wage
Direct materials 520,000 rate paid to workers (for both direct labor and indirect
used labor) in excess of their straight-time wage rates. Overtime
Add direct 100,000 premium is classified as overhead when the overtime is
manufacturing attributable to the heavy overall volume of work. When a
labor particular job, such as a rush order, is the sole reason for
Add 230,000
the overtime, the overtime premium is classified as a direct
manufacturing
overhead costs cost of that job. Idle time is wages paid for unproductive
Manufacturing time caused by lack of orders, machine breakdowns,
costs incurred 850,000 material shortages, poor scheduling, and the like.
during the
period 14. Some manufacturing companies classify payroll
Add beginning 120,000 fringe benefit costs of direct labor as overhead cost,
work in process whereas others classify them as direct labor cost. The latter
Total approach is preferable because these payroll fringe benefit
manufacturing 970,000 costs are a fundamental part of acquiring direct
cost to account
manufacturing labor services. To prevent disputes about
for
Deduct ending 170,000
cost items such as payroll fringe benefits, training time,
work in process overtime premium, idle time, vacations, and sick leave,
Cost of goods $800,000 contracts and laws should be as specific as feasible
manufactured regarding definitions and measurements.
1. Whitaker Company’s relevant range is between 8,000 units and 16,000 units. If 10,000 units are produced,
variable costs are $200,000 and fixed costs are $450,000. Assuming production increases to 15,000 units, compute
(a) total variable costs, (b) variable cost per unit, and (c) fixed cost per unit.
Solution
Additional cost information for January: direct materials purchased $42,000, direct manufacturing labor
$30,000, manufacturing overhead $40,000.
Check Figures for these Review Exercises are at the end of the Student Guide. Solutions are at the end of the
chapter.
1. (CMA adapted) Backus Company estimated its unit cost of producing and selling 12,000 units per month as
follows:
The cost driver for manufacturing costs is units produced. The cost driver for nonmanufacturing
costs is units sold. The relevant range is 7,000 units to 14,000 units.
a. Compute fixed manufacturing overhead per unit for monthly production of 10,000 units.
b. Compute total costs (manufacturing and nonmanufacturing) for a month when 9,000 units are
produced and 8,000 units are sold.
In 2008, the total unit cost at production levels of 40,000 units and 60,000 units is $37.50 and
$33.00, respectively. The relevant range is 35,000 units to 70,000 units.
Inventories
Ending Beginning
Finished goods $95,000 $110,000
Work in process 80,000 70,000
Direct materials 95,000 90,000
1 2 3 4
5 6 7
11 9
12
13 10 14
15 1
6
17
18 19
20
21
3. Different costs for different __________ 2. Matches organization’s capabilities to opportunities in marketplace
5. The management accountant’s attention-directing __________ 3. All direct manufacturing costs are __________ costs.
7. A __________ cost increases in total as more units are produced. 4. Includes selecting organization goals
13. Code of professional __________ 9. A __________ cost decreases per unit as more units are produced.
15. All costs in the income statement except cost of goods sold 15. __________ cost has three different meanings
20. A cost __________ is a variable that causes costs to increase or 17. Part of the value chain: __________ of products, services, or processes
decrease over a given time period. 19. $100,000/20,000 units = $5; $5 is the __________ cost
Answers and Solutions to Chapter 2 Review Questions and Exercises
Completion Statements
1. direct, indirect
2. relevant range
3. cost driver
4. inventoriable
5. Period
6. manufacturing overhead (factory overhead)
7. Conversion
8. preparing financial statements, contracting with government agencies, pricing and product-mix decisions
True-False
1. F A cost object is anything for which a measurement of costs is desired. Examples of cost objects include
products, customers, projects, and departments.
2. F The statement defines cost assignment, not cost accumulation. Cost accumulation is the collection of cost
data in some organized way by means of an accounting system.
3. T
4. F Variable cost per unit remains the same within the relevant range. Fixed cost per unit increases (decreases)—
though not in a straight line—if the related level of activity or volume decreases (increases). When
graphed on a total basis, both variable costs and fixed costs are straight lines (linear) within the relevant
range.
5. F Nonmanufacturing costs are period costs, and manufacturing costs are inventoriable costs. Television
advertising is a period cost, and depreciation on the bottle-capping machines is an inventoriable cost.
6. T
7. T
8. F When work-in-process inventory decreases during the accounting period (that is, the ending work-in-process
inventory is less than the beginning work-in-process inventory), cost of goods manufactured exceeds
manufacturing costs incurred for the period. Cost of goods manufactured, therefore, is equal to
manufacturing costs incurred during the period plus the decrease in work-in-process inventory. Exhibit 2-
8, text p. 41, shows the opposite case in which work-in-process inventory increased during the period.
9. T
10. F It is preferable to classify payroll fringe benefit costs of direct manufacturing labor as a direct
manufacturing labor cost. That’s because payroll fringe benefit costs are a fundamental aspect of
acquiring the direct manufacturing labor services.
Multiple Choice
1. c Answers (a), (b), and (d) refer to indirect costs of their respective cost objects.
2. d $64,000 ÷ 10,000 = $6.40 per unit
3. d In general, variable cost per unit and fixed costs in total can be most reliably predicted because a forecast of
the level of activity or volume is not required.
4. c $120,000 ÷ 15,000 = $8 per unit, which is also the variable cost per unit when 12,000 units are produced.
5. c Plant rent is part of manufacturing overhead costs. As a result, it is a conversion cost and an inventoriable
cost.
6. a The variable portion of budgeted cost of goods sold is $4,000,000 − $800,000 = $3,200,000. Because this
amount is 75% of revenues, budgeted revenues are $3,200,000 ÷ 0.75 = $4,266,667.
Revenues $ R
Cost of goods sold 333,000
Gross margin $ 96,000
R − $333,000 = $96,000
R = $96,000 + $333,000 = $429,000
Note, the beginning and ending work-in-process inventories are not explicitly included in these
computations. That’s because the cost of goods manufactured, $340,000, includes the change in
work-in-process inventory.
8. b Under the traditional three-part classification of manufacturing costs:
Prime costs = Direct material costs + Direct manufacturing labor costs
Conversion costs = Direct manufacturing labor costs + Manufacturing overhead costs
9. b Overtime premium = (47 − 40) × ($18 − $12) = 7 × $6 = $42
Review Exercise 1
Review Exercise 2
c. Two steps are used to obtain the answer. First, compute cost of goods manufactured:
C O S T P U R P O S E S
H T R L
A R O L E I V A R I A B L E
I A I M N
N T N E N V
B E N E F I T I A
G I C O N T R O L L E R
Y X G U
E T H I C S B U D G E T
P E R I O D O
R B N D
O J C U S T O M E R
D R I V E R N R S
U C I O I
C T T L G
T R A N G E
2. Under CVP analysis, the income statement above
CHAPTER is reformatted to show a key line item, contribution
Cost- margin:
3 Volume-
Revenues, $100,000
Profit 2,000 × $50
Variable costs, 40,000
Analysis 2,000 × $20
Contribution 60,000
margin
Overview Fixed costs 60,000
Operating $ -0-
income
This chapter explains a planning tool called
cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis. CVP
analysis examines the behavior of total
revenues, total costs, and operating income This format, called the contribution income statement,
(profit) as changes occur in the units sold, the is used extensively in this chapter and throughout the
selling price, the variable cost per unit, or the textbook.
fixed costs of a product. The reliability of the
results from CVP analysis depends on the 3. Contribution margin can be expressed three ways:
reasonableness of the assumptions. The in total, on a per unit basis, and as a percentage of
Appendix to the chapter gives additional insights revenues. In our example, total contribution margin is
about CVP analysis; it explains decision models $60,000. Contribution margin per unit is the difference
and uncertainty. between selling price and variable cost per unit: $50 −
$20 = $30. Contribution margin per unit is also equal to
Highlights contribution margin divided by the number of units sold:
$60,000 ÷ 2,000 = $30. Contribution margin
1. Because managers want to avoid percentage (also called contribution margin ratio) is
operating losses, they are interested in the contribution margin per unit divided by selling price: $30
breakeven point calculated using CVP analysis. ÷ $50 = 60%; it is also equal to contribution margin
The breakeven point is the quantity of output divided by revenues: $60,000 ÷ $100,000 = 60%. This
sold at which total revenues equal total costs. contribution margin percentage means that 60 cents in
There is neither a profit nor a loss at the contribution margin is gained for each $1 of revenues.
breakeven point. To illustrate, assume a
company sells 2,000 units of its only product for 4. In our example, compute the breakeven point
$50 per unit, variable cost is $20 per unit, and (BEP) in units and in revenues as follows:
fixed costs are $60,000 per month. Given these
conditions, the company is operating at the
breakeven point:
Revenues, $100,000
2,000 × $50
Deduct:
Variable 40,000
costs, 2,000
× $20
Fixed costs 60,000 1 5. The CVP analysis above is based on the
Operating $ -0- following assumptions:
income
To state a target net income figure in terms 12. CVP-based sensitivity analysis highlights the
of operating income, divide target net risks and returns that an existing cost structure holds
income by 1 − tax rate: $30,000 ÷ (1 − .40) for a company. This insight may lead managers to
= $50,000. Note, the income-tax factor does consider alternative cost structures. For example,
not change the breakeven point because no compensating a salesperson on the basis of a sales
income taxes arise if operating income is $0. commission (a variable cost) rather than a salary (a
fixed cost) decreases the company’s downside risk if
8. Managers use CVP analysis to guide demand is low but decreases its return if demand is
their decisions, many of which are strategic high. The risk-return tradeoff across alternative cost
decisions. For example, CVP analysis helps structures can be measured as operating leverage.
Operating leverage describes the effects that products remains constant as the level of total units
fixed costs have on changes in operating sold changes. The breakeven point is some number
income as changes occur in units sold and of units of each product, depending on the sales mix.
contribution margin. Companies with a high To illustrate, assume a company sells two products,
proportion of fixed costs in their cost A and B. The sales mix is 4 units of A and 3 units of
structures have high operating leverage. B. The contribution margins per unit are $80 for A
Consequently, small changes in units sold and $40 for B. Fixed costs are $308,000 per month.
cause large changes in operating income. At To compute the breakeven point:
any given level of sales:
In its budget for next month, Welker Company has revenues of $500,000, variable costs of $350,000, and fixed costs
of $135,000.
Solution
d. Two steps are used to obtain the answer. First, compute operating income when net income is $48,000:
Second, compute total revenues needed to achieve a target operating income of $80,000 (that is, a target
net income of $48,000), which is denoted by Y:
__5. Trading off fixed costs in a company’s cost structure
Review Questions and Exercises for higher variable cost per unit decreases
downside risk if demand is low and decreases
(All answers are at the end of the chapter.) return if demand is high.
__6. At any given level of sales, the degree of operating
Completion Statements leverage is equal to contribution margin divided
by operating income.
Fill in the blank(s) to complete each statement. __7. If the budget appropriation for a government social
welfare agency is reduced by 15% and the cost-
1. __________________________________ is volume relationships remain the same, the client
equal to selling price minus variable cost per service level would decrease by 15%.
unit. __8. The longer the time horizon in a decision situation,
2. The financial report that highlights the the lower the percentage of total costs that are
contribution margin as a line item is called variable.
the _______________________________. __9. Cost of goods sold in manufacturing companies is a
3. The possibility that an actual amount will variable cost.
deviate from an expected amount is called __10. (Appendix) The probability distribution for the
_______________. mutually exclusive and collectively exhaustive set
4. ________________________ is a “what if” of events in a decision model sums to 1.00.
technique that, when used in the context of __11. (Appendix) Even if a manager makes a good
CVP analysis, examines how an outcome decision, a bad outcome may still occur.
such as operating income will change if the
original predicted data are not achieved or if Multiple Choice
an underlying assumption changes.
5. The quantities (or proportions) of various Select the best answer to each question. Space is provided
products (or services) that constitute total for computations after the quantitative questions.
unit sales of a company is called the
________________. __1. (CPA) CVP analysis does not assume that:
6. _________________ describes the effects that a. selling prices remain constant.
fixed costs have on changes in operating b. there is a single revenue and cost driver.
income as changes occur in units sold and, c. total fixed costs vary inversely with the output
hence, in contribution margin. level.
7. (Appendix) In a decision model, the correct d. total costs are linear within the relevant range.
decision is to choose the action with the best __2. Given for Winn Company in 2008: revenues
______________________, which is the $530,000, manufacturing costs $220,000 (one-
weighted average of the outcomes with the half fixed), and marketing and administrative
probability of each outcome serving as the costs $270,000 (two-thirds variable). The
weight. contribution margin is:
True-False a. $40,000.
b. $240,000.
Indicate whether each statement is true (T) or c. $310,000.
false (F). d. $330,000.
Check Figures for these Review Exercises are at the end of the Student Guide. Solutions are at the end of the chapter.
1. (CMA) The income statement for Davann Co. presented below shows the operating results for the fiscal year just
ended. Davann had sales of 1,800 tons of product during that year. The manufacturing capacity of Davann’s
facilities is 3,000 tons of product.
Revenues $900,000
Variable costs:
Manufacturing $315,000
Nonmanufacturing 180,000 495,000
Contribution margin 405,000
Fixed costs:
Manufacturing 90,000
Nonmanufacturing 157,500 247,500
Operating income 157,500
Income taxes (40%) 63,000
Net income $ 94,500
a. If the sales volume is estimated to be 2,100 tons for next year, and if the selling price and cost-
behavior patterns remain the same next year, how much net income does Davann expect to earn
next year?
b. Assume Davann estimates the selling price per ton will decline 10% next year, variable cost will
increase by $40 per ton, and total fixed costs will not change. Compute how many tons must be
sold next year to earn net income of $94,500.
T U
Selling price $25 $16
Variable costs per unit 20 13
Compute the breakeven point in units, assuming the sales mix is five units of U for each unit of T.
3. (CPA) Dallas Corporation wishes to market a new product at a selling price of $1.50 per unit. Fixed
costs for this product are $100,000 for less than 500,000 units of output and $150,000 for 500,000 or
more units of output. The contribution-margin percentage is 20%.
Compute how many units of this product must be sold to earn a target operating income of $100,000.
4. (Appendix, CMA) The ARC Radio Company is trying to decide whether to introduce a new product, a
wrist “radiowatch” designed for shortwave reception of the exact time as broadcast by the National
Bureau of Standards. The “radiowatch” would be priced at $60, which is exactly twice the variable cost
per unit to manufacture and sell it. The fixed costs to introduce the radiowatch are $240,000 per year.
The following probability distribution estimates the demand for the product:
Completion Statements
1. F The breakeven point in revenues is computed by dividing total fixed costs by contribution-margin percentage.
The computation described in the statement gives breakeven revenues only if the company happened to be
operating at the breakeven point.
2. T
3. F The amount by which budgeted revenues exceed the breakeven quantity is called the margin of safety.
4. F The breakeven point is unaffected by income taxes because operating income at the breakeven point is $0 and,
hence, no income taxes arise.
5. T
6. T
7. F If the budget appropriation for a government social welfare agency is reduced by 15% and the cost-volume
relationships remain the same, the client service level would decrease by more than 15% because of the
existence of fixed costs. For example, the illustration, text p. 78, has a 21.4% decrease in the service level
when the budget appropriation is reduced by 15%.
8. F The longer the time horizon in a decision situation, the lower the percentage of total costs that are fixed and the
higher the percentage of total costs that are variable.
9. F Cost of goods sold in manufacturing companies includes both variable and fixed manufacturing costs.
10. T
11. T
Multiple Choice
1. c One of the assumptions in CVP analysis is that total fixed costs remain the same within the relevant range. In
other words, fixed cost per unit varies inversely with the output level within the relevant range.
2. b Contribution margin = $530,000 − $220,000(1/2 variable) − $270,000(2/3 variable)
= $530,000 − $110,000 − $180,000 = $240,000
3. c Gross margin = $530,000 − $220,000 = $310,000
4. a Let R = Revenues needed to earn a target operating income of 10% of revenues
Because current revenues are $200,000, an increase in revenues of $200,000 is needed to earn a target
operating income of 10% of revenues.
5. c Total costs at breakeven = (1,000 × $500) + $150,000 = $650,000
Selling price = $650,000 ÷ 1,000 units = $650
Contribution margin per unit = $650 − $500 = $150
6. b The selling price in 2009 to earn the same operating income of $200,000 is the selling price in 2008, $120,
increased by the amount of the higher liability insurance in 2009, $1,200,000, spread over the 80,000-unit
sales volume:
Selling price in 2009 = $120 + ($1,200,000 ÷ 80,000) = $120 + $15 = $135
7. b Three steps are used to obtain the answer. First, compute the contribution margin.
Contribution margin percentage = 100% − Variable costs percentage of 70% = 30%.
Contribution margin = $300,000 × 0.30 = $90,000. Second, compute operating income:
Third, the difference between contribution margin and operating income is fixed costs:
$90,000 − $40,000 = $50,000
8. d An example of this decision situation is deciding whether to add a passenger to an airline flight that has empty
seats and will depart in one hour. Variable cost for the passenger is negligible. Virtually all the costs in this
decision situation are fixed.
9. b Margin of safety answers the what-if question: If budgeted revenues exceed the breakeven point and drop, how
far can they fall below the budget before the breakeven point is reached?
Proof of breakeven point: $24,000 ÷ 0.20 = $120,000
10. b A shift in the sales mix from high contribution-margin percentage products toward low ones decreases the
overall contribution-margin percentage of the sales mix. This change increases the breakeven point.
11. c Operating income = 3,000($2.00) − 4,000($0.60) = $6,000 − $2,400 = $3,600
eview Exercise 1
R
a. Three steps are used to obtain the answer. First, compute selling price: $900,000 ÷ 1,800 = $500. Second,
compute variable cost per unit: $495,000 ÷ 1,800 = $275. Third, prepare a contribution income statement at
the 2,100-ton level of output:
eview Exercise 2
R
Proof:
eview Exercise 3
R
Two steps are used to obtain the answer. First, determine if fixed costs will be $100,000 or $150,000. If
fixed costs are $100,000, the maximum operating income is attained at 499,999 units:
eview Exercise 4
R
a. 6,000 × .20 = 1,200
8,000 × .20 = 1,600
10,000 × .20 = 2,000
12,000 × .20 = 2,400
14,000 × .10 = 1,400
16,000 × .10 = 1,600
Expected value of demand in units 10,200
b. If the number of units sold each year is equal to or less than the breakeven point, the radiowatch will
not increase the company’s operating income. At the breakeven point,
Because the company’s operating income will not increase if 8,000 units or 6,000 units are sold, the
probability of either of these events occurring is equal to the sum of their individual probabilities:
0.20 + 0.20 = 0.40.